stellar weather and 1 MIA

a view of rainier in the distant right window panel, and perfect weather

a view of rainier in the distant right window panel, and perfect weather

As of earlier today monday, my better half is flying flew back to socal to finish work on a major Caltrans project widening the I-215  (she’s doing the bat mitigation aspect before construction starts). The project was supposed to be started later, much later then now. So we postpone going back to Squamish until Friday when I pick her up.

Index, which we both really liked, is in the 50’s warming to the low 60’s, Leavenworth is in the 60’s, and Squamish is climbing straight to the low 70’s by weekend’s end. The previous forecasts have been for temps staying i n the 50’s. 60’s are doable in heavy cover like some of Index and Squamish. Leavenworth, I haven’t noticed such disparities. The deep of Squamish forest feels like a different sub-climate: colder, clammier and quite still.

Here are a few pics of the start of Hagakure and a warmup on the backside of Leggo My Ego.

jill warming up on an easy but really nice warmup on the backside of Leggo My Ego

jill warming up on an easy but really nice warmup on the backside of Leggo My Ego

start of Hagakure, v12

start of Hagakure, v12

first move

first move

sticking the small seem edge

sticking the small seem edge…only the beginning. next move is no issue then follows are the crux two moves.

Here is video of Leggo My Ego. I hope the edit isn’t too boring. It feels to me to be just on the verge, but not over.

Regarding the problem, I rated the problem v5. I’ve seen 6’s and 7’s, but for moi? I just think it suits my size and experience. It’s hard for me to rate this because this type of problem is everywhere in josh. Some of those 3’s can be harder in josh at times. I also think it’s an excellent line, one of the reasons we like Index so much. (The rock texture too, it’s pretty sweet when conditions are prime… like this last sunday.) It’s by no means casual, but this problem feels like it’s all about getting into position, and once there, it’s a hop to a jug. The top was wet, so I climbed even more slug-like exiting.

~ by r. mulligan on 2013/10/16.

Leave a Reply

 
