SB bouldering

This last weekend we went to Santa Barbara to boulder for Mad Rock, who was having a photo shoot for their upcoming catalog. Though I climb in Evolv’s, I went along to get free food and a tour of the stone. đŸ˜‰ Seriously, the first day I just hung out and enjoyed the time spent. Jill was posing for photos and, when opportunity struck, tried to send some lines under not-so-good conditions. The occasion was also used for shooting images for an upcoming article in California Climber magazine on the Santa Barbara stone. Gramicci was involved dishing out attire for the climbers. The two photographers were Anthony Lapomardo, contributing photographer, and Dean Fleming, the Editor-in-Chief and publisher for the magazine. Below are a few images from our two days.

easily doing the crux start moves... she then pops to the sidepull

easily doing the crux start moves… she then pops to the sidepull (in previewing the photos, I noticed they are very soft. Even though these are low quality jpegs, they look much sharper than what wordpress is reproducing here. I’ll have to look into this…)

Update: Ok, I figured out why the image is so soft. My original low quality jpeg is 200kb, so I downloaded the image off the blog site and it’s 15kbs! wtf? As a newbie to blogging, I’ll have to pay more attention to details. *See at bottom of post…

after sunset, again, cruising the crux only to get shut down on the upper slopers.

after sunset, again cruising the crux only to get shut down on the upper slopers.

Courtesy Jill’s beta for Grotesque Old Woman, v7?8, I was able to send; otherwise, going big on the first move to the far slopers wasn’t working out well (further right of Jill’s right hand). Of course, conditions weren’t especially kind to us, as I felt on the topout.

keeping the compression strong cause the slopers weren't too sticky

keeping the compression strong ’cause the slopers weren’t too sticky. from here I high-stepped the left to a high edge then went left hand again to the top horn

Earlier, I also sent the Steve Edwards Project, v5, and Fritz Bulge, v6. Personally, I felt the Project (jtree v3 or 4) was way easy compared to the Bulge. Regarding the SEP, I could have started incorrectly, as I used a high sidepull and a low undercling. Mountainproject.com states the start is on a thin low crimp and the high sidepull. The undercling is lower, so I guess I didn’t do the Project. Bummer. There’s also a belly high bulge sidepull further right around the corner that had some chalk… I digress.

posing for photos at the lizard's mouth

posing for photos at the lizard’s mouth

Anthony Lapomardo getting serious for Mad Rock

Anthony Lapomardo getting serious for Mad Rock

a very physical v3, especially for short peoples...

a very physical v3, especially for short peoples…

*In reference to my comment about image quality, here are 2 more samples of the same first image. Both are preset quality settings in Olympus’ viewer 2 software (I only use this to output an image quickly). The first is a standard setting, and the second one is a high setting.

standard setting 364kb. downloaded from site becomes
standard setting 364kb. downloaded from site becomes 30 kbs
high settings, 533kb, downloaded from site
high settings, 533kb, downloaded from site becomes 44kbs

As you can tell, they all look like shit. Sweet. Fucking WordPress. Or maybe it’s me, so I’ll have to do more work… Or maybe WordPress want’s us all to have a good complexion, so they make things soft on purpose! In seriousness, the downloaded images are 299×224 pixels, my original uploaded images are 1200×899 pixels. Under Advanced Settings for the image, it shows it as 299×224 pixels. I selected a medium image for what I thought was just a preview image, but it appears as if that preview image is the only one they display EVEN though in the Media editing window it says it’s 1200×899 pixels. So I’m using up my limited media space on a picture that isn’t getting displayed. Nice.

Here is my final test for now: uploaded the low quality image below with the full size setting:

grotesqueoldwoman jc5
looks pretty shitty.

…and guess what? It’s 663×497 pixels at 77kbs (original with border and caption contained in that border)! Without the border, as you see here, it’s 988×740 pixels and 134 kbs. Bizarre or I’m very naive. Apparently, WordPress is compressing all the images regardless and resizing on the fly according to how it’s displayed in the post. More work to do…

Update: My size constraints are based on the theme I’ve chosen. I’d need to pick another theme more amendable to photography. Eeck.

~ by r. mulligan on 2013/04/22.

3 Responses to “SB bouldering”

  1. You did not send my famous low boy crimp special Grin and Bare it? Come on brother Jill would love those little crimps!

Leave a Reply

 
