Salt of the Earth (Le Sel de la Terre)

at the end of last season, I had climbed the line through the crux, but botched the crossover move. conditions last year were ok leading up to that last try, but after that, days turned warm baking the holds in its southerly direction. on sunday, I wasn’t sure what to expect, knowing I was stronger at some things, but not sure about the crux dyno and hitting a three finger tips dish then doing the crossover. the topout itself is maybe a 4 for josh topouts. it was cold, 2o’s, so I just had to climb.

in the past we shot with two cameras on tripods. this time we did the same, but for unknown reasons I never considered the cold and what it does to batteries. as a result, the edit wasn’t what we wanted (another reason why batteries and flash cards should ALL be accessible from the side when on tripods. what a pain in the ass when manufacturers put them on the bottom. wtf?). I added footage from last season and let it roll. video after the break.

this shot gives a better idea of the crack nature

this shot gives a better idea of the crack nature

different beta

different beta

shot at 25600 iso. in the digital viewfinder on the omd, I could only see the headlamp illumination... image shooting at iso 204800!

shot at 25600 iso. in the digital viewfinder on the omd, I could only see the headlamp illumination… image shooting at iso 204800!

here is the video (near the end, you will see a camera on a tripod on the right). when I hit the sloper, I was very surprised as I was hanging my ring finger on one crystal. the match was key as I could and did readjust…

~ by r.mulligan on 2013/12/10.

One Response to “Salt of the Earth (Le Sel de la Terre)”

  1. I want to try it!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

